November 17 2022

The new Chair of the Transport Committee has been announced as Iain Stewart after being successfully elected, replacing Huw Merriman.

Stewart, has previously been a member of the Transport Committee during three previous stints. He has been an MP for the Milton Keynes South since 2010.  

On his appointment, Harper said: “I'm delighted to have been elected the Chair of the Transport Committee. I'd like to take this opportunity to thank all of my colleagues who voted for me. I'm looking forward to getting stuck in, ensuring the business of the Committee is done with a cross party and holistic approach.

We welcome Stewart into the role and look forward to working with him to help coaches and buses play their full part in the development of the nation’s wealth and health.